top of page

CNY Diaries-15 Days with the Lim family

Chinese New Year’s Eve- 30 February 2014

 

Dear Diary,

It’s finally here! The eve of Chinese New Year! I have been looking forward to it, ever since the spring cleaning and the decorating. It’s close to dinner time now and preparations are underway for the tuanyuan fan (reunion dinner) later. Dad is prepping the steamboat, mum chopping the vegetables, the radio is blaring Chinese New Year songs, and Martin, my younger brother, is whining why he can’t help to cut the vegetables. “It’s because you’re just a little boy,” Mum teased him, smiling. Mum was nagging just now to tell me to hurry up with my homework because we have a lot of visiting, or what we call bai nian. A wonderful chance to get more angpaos (red packets), I thought.

All too soon, it was the reunion dinner. Mum did not let us down this time, what with the many dishes laid out beside the steamboat, and the delicious scent of pork soup simmering. Yum! We ate our fill and sighed contentedly.

Later, Mum and Dad gave us our angpaos and we were delighted, stashing them in a drawer. Martin made a bet with me that he would get more angpao money than me. And, if he didn’t get more than I did, he would have to buy me chocolate-flavoured ice-cream.

We went to Chinatown to soak up the atmosphere. It was really, really crowded there! Stall owners advertising their cheaply sold goods and food and people haggling with the prices. Dad managed to buy rou gan, or bakwa, which is barbecued pork jerky. Mmm, how fragrant!

The event was spectacular, with song and dance and games for the public to win cash prizes. Soon it was a few seconds before midnight. The celebrities and the public chanted: “10…9…8…7…6…5…4…3…2…1… xin nian kuai le (Happy Chinese New Year!)!” And thus we ushered in the New Year with style as fireworks exploded in the sky above, mixed with the melodious sound of firecrackers popping away.

Yours Sincerely,

Melissa

 

Chinese New Year Day 1- 31 January 2014

Dear Diary,

My, my jaws are aching so badly after smiling and enlightening countless of relatives of mine that yes, I’m a big, grown girl now and yes, I did take good care of Martin.

Today, we went to visit my paternal grandparents and relatives. Grandma was so cheerful whenever she saw me and would give me a wonderful hug. I would breathe in her lovely grandma smell of powder and cookies.

Grandma produced many plastic Tupperware containers of cookies of all sorts, asking us to try out her cookies. There were pineapple tarts, almond cookies in the shape of a flower, pea-flavoured cookies, kuih bangkit, love letters, kuih bahulu and many more! Grandma always bakes cookies every year for Chinese New Year and they never fail to taste brilliantly. This year’s batch was as good, or perhaps, even better than last year’s!

Meanwhile, Grandpa was outside on the couch reading the newspaper and talking to Dad and Mum. After Grandma gave us our angpaos, Martin and entertained ourselves in their study.

Close to lunch time, Uncle James and Aunt Carol, Dad’s siblings, stopped by, with their respective spouses Aunt Lizzy and Uncle Chris, and the cousins, Kristine, Louisa and Jian Rong. We had fun playing Angry Birds on their iPads and laughed away, talking about school and the latest trends. Jian Rong was whining why we couldn’t eat meat. Aunt Carol explained, “Don’t you want a long and happy life, son? We are also welcoming the gods of the heaven and earth to celebrate with us,”

It was soon late afternoon and we went home. Gosh, I have never felt so tired in my life!

Yours Sincerely,

Melissa

 

Chinese New Year Day 2-1 February 2014

Dear Diary,

Today we didn’t do any visiting, thank goodness. We went to the crematorium near Mandai Road to pay respect to Dad and Mum’s ancestors, namely my great-grandparents.

Today is also considered as the birthday of dogs, thus we have to treat dogs with an extra amount of kindness today. Though we didn’t have a dog or a puppy in the house, I bought a doggie toy for my friend at school who has a puppy. I better remember to bring it to school on Tuesday!

Since I have a few tests coming up and Martin has his PSLE exams around the corner, Mum is making us study. Oh well, I guess it’s for our own good.

Got to go back to my books!

Yours Sincerely, Melissa

 

Chinese New Year Day 3- 2 February 2014

Dear Diary,

Today we went to visit my maternal grandparents. Grandma and Grandpa are such lovely people, especially Grandma. She would always sit with us and hear our stories about school and if we have any problems she would tell us what to do to face them. She always gives the best advice, other than my parents, of course.

For lunch we had bee hoon with curry, Grandma’s specialty. Mum always told us that in the old days, Grandma would set up a stall near the streets to sell her curry to earn extra money for the family. They have always been a hardworking bunch, my Mum’s relations.

Grandpa used to be a financial advisor a long, long time ago and would give good advice to his son-in-law (Dad) about how to tread carefully and wisely while he works. The visit there was quite short as my classmate (yes, the one with the puppy), Lena, would be coming over to my house shortly. Martin also invited his friend, Tim, over. I can’t wait!

Oh, that’s the doorbell. Write to you later!

Yours Sincerely, Melissa

 

Chinese New Year Day4-3 February 2014

Dear Diary,

Today’s the day before school reopens. Martin and I had to complete our assignments, plus with some revision for our upcoming tests, so I could only write now, at night.

Martin is already asleep after Mum giving him Math crash courses and driving him crazy, as Math is his weakest point. Though it is already 9 o’clock at night, Dad is not home yet as he had to work today, plus there was a corporate dinner where they can lo hei (or lao yu sheng, which means tossing a prosperity salad).

Poor Dad, having to travel all the way to Meritus Mandarin for a dinner and come back late at night. I hope he won’t fall asleep halfway while he drives us to school tomorrow.

Oops, Mum’s opening the bedroom door. I’ll tell you more tomorrow.

Yours Sincerely, Melissa

 

Chinese New Year Day5- 4 February 2014

Dear Diary,

Back to school again, today!

Once again, I got loads of homework from the teachers at school, especially from my Math teacher. Can’t she give us a break? Anyway, no additional ang paos because if we visit people today, it’s believed to be bad luck. Mum was staying at home to welc0me the God of Wealth.

My pen pal in China sent photos of her and the family eating dumplings and playing with firecrackers to get the attention of a god called Guan Yu. Hmm, I have to do some research on him!

Yours Sincerely, Melissa

 

Chinese New Year Day6- 5 February 2014

Dear Diary,

This day is the death anniversary of the Clear-Water Grand Master. I went to do some research, and here’s what I found:

The Master was a monk in Sung dynasty. He prayed for rain many times to save people during a drought. He persuaded people to build many bridges and to plant trees. Many miracles happened after his death.

Once he lived at Clear-Water Rock Mountain, so people call him the Clear-Water Grand Master. His temple will have a big ceremony on this day. On the 6th to the 10th day of the lunar calendar, the Chinese visit their relatives and friends. They also visit the temples to pray for good fortune and health.

I’m so tired today. Gosh, there’s so much work to do!

Yours Sincerely, Melissa

 

Chinese New Year Day7- 6 February2014

Dear Diary,

Today is believed to be everyone’s birthday, so in school we were giving each other cards for fun even though it wasn’t literally our birthday. Mum bought us a yu sheng to toss for fun today. Martin and I succeeded in making a big mess on the table, but thankfully Mum wasn’t angry.

Martin was begging me to tutor him in English, especially in synthesis and transformation, seeing as yours truly got an A* in English for PSLE. Oh well, what can I say?

Yours Sincerely, Melissa

 

Chinese New Year Day8- 7 February 2014

Dear Diary,

Mum whipped up another family dinner to celebrate the eve of the birth of the Jade Emperor, the ruler of heaven. Dad’s customers hosted a lunch/dinner with him and their employees to appreciate their hard work they have put in for the whole year.

Approaching 12 midnight on this day, the Hokkiens prepare for the “Jade Emperor ritual” during which incense is burnt and food offerings made to the Jade Emperor and also to Zao Jun, the Kitchen God who reports on each family to the Jade Emperor.

Some people will hold a ritual prayer at after midnight on the eighth day. In Malaysia, especially, people light fireworks, often more than on the first day. Ignore that, that’s Martin’s extra homework. 

Yours Sincerely, Melissa

 

Chinese New Year Day9- 8 February 2014

Dear Diary,

Wow, time flies so quickly! It’s the ninth day of Chinese New Year already! Today is believed to be the birthday of the Jade Emperor. The Hokkiens, a Chinese dialect group, would hold prayers and offerings to the Jade Emperor and would go to the temple to pay their respects.

Since Mum’s a Hokkien, she went to the temple today in the afternoon, leaving me to take care of Martin at home and cook dinner. When Mum went off, Martin whined in my face, “And don’t you even think about cooking instant noodles for me!”

Excuse me, I make a mean plate of Yang Chow Fried Rice, okay.

Yours Sincerely, Melissa

 

Chinese New Year Day 13- 12 February 2014

Dear diary,

Today is the 13th day of Chinese New Year, according to the Lunar New Year calendar. From the 10th to the 12th day, it was basically celebrating the Jade Emperor’s birthday, so nothing special to report.

Today, mum said that we can’t eat meat, but experience what it’s like to be a vegetarian for a day. Well, mum explains that we have to do this because the 13th day of the Lunar New Year is dedicated to the General Guan Yu, also known as the Chinese God of War.

When I furthered my research on Wikipedia (since I had nothing to do because I finished all my homework), I found out that General Guan Yu was born in the Han dynasty and is considered the greatest general in Chinese history. He represents loyalty, strength, truth, and justice. According to history, he came to a bad end as he was tricked by the enemy and died by beheading. Also, Dad told me that there we were to eat vegetarian food to purify our bodies-after all the large amount of junk food we ate. When Dad came back from work today, he told me that his boss was not around today, as he went to the temple to pray to the General Guan Yu. When Martin asked why so, Dad explained that before Guan Yu died, he had won over one hundred battles and that is a goal that all businesses, especially in China want to accomplish. Dad explained that many perceive him as the God of Wealth or Success.

Tomorrow is the 14th day of Chinese New Year. I can’t wait for it!

Yours Sincerely, Melissa

 

Chinese New Year Day 14- 13 February 2014

Dear Diary,

Today is the 14th day of Chinese New Year! Unfortunately, I could not really help much for the 15th day reunion dinner preparations. The teachers were really generous when dishing out homework today, especially Math.

Today, Mum went to NTUC Fairprice and came back with Dodo fishballs, slices of meat, seaweed, shitake mushrooms and many other dishes I could not name. Regardless, I was looking forward to the reunion dinner tomorrow. I think I forgot to mention that Mum bought a lot of tang yuan (glutinous rice balls) for tomorrow as well! I think I would definitely spoil the excitement if I tell you what it means. Perhaps I will tell you tomorrow!

Okay, I have to continue doing my homework. Until we write again!

Yours Sincerely, Melissa

 

Chinese New Year Day 15- 14 February 2014

Dear Diary,

At last! The 15th day and the last day of the celebrations are here! Martin and I have officially become sick of love letters after indulging too much of them every single day!

Today is known as 元宵节 (yuan xiao jie) or the Lantern Festival. On this day, Mum cooked the tang yuan and it was oh, so delicious! I sent an email to my pen pal in China and she sent back photos of her and her cousins playing with paper lanterns on the streets. She also explained to me that the rows of candles lit outside her country home were to guide wayward spirits home. In Singapore, this day is celebrated by individuals seeking for a romantic partner, very similar to the Valentine’s Day we have on the 14th of February every year.

What I found out: Women who were singles would write their contact number on mandarin oranges and throw it in a river or a lake while the men who were singles would collect them and eat the oranges. The taste is an indication of their possible love: sweet represents a good fate while sour represents a bad fate.

We had a wonderful reunion dinner that night and the suspense was worth it. Martin and I finally opened our hongpaos and I got $20 more than Martin! Yes!

I hope you know more about the Chinese New Year now. It was a wonderful fifteen days indeed but I can’t wait for life to return to normal. Until next time!

Yours Sincerely, Melissa

* Note that the characters in the diary entries are purely fictional.Any relations to people are purely coincidental

Image Credits: http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/chinese-new-year-2014-colourful-pictures-year-horse-approaches-1434343

Written by: Eunice Yeo ,4 Respect, Editor-in-Chief’ Siti ,5 Thinking, Top 10s & Reviews Correspondent Zoey Chow ,2 Integrity, Assistant Editor Rachel Chong ,4 Commitment, Coordinator Au Jing Ting ,4 Enterprise, Sports Correspondent


bottom of page